Cabinet of Curiosities

36 Tales Brief & Sinister

«A hefty sheaf of chillers-all short enough to share aloud and expertly cast to entice unwary middle graders a step or two into the shadows." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "This collection of 36 short dark fantasies ... aspires to sit on the same shelf as Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and succeeds admirably... Readers who enjoy their Halloween chills all year round will find this anthology a delight." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) "With school dismissed, it's time for pure pleasure reading... The Cabinet of Curiosities ... lets readers dip in and out of 36 spine-tingling tales." -- Shelf Awareness for Readers "The stories are remarkable both for their uniformly high quality and for their distinctness from one another; the abundant atmospherics, including occasional stark black-and-white illustrations, provide a unifying sense of dread." -- The Horn Book "For readers who have gloried in and graduated from Alvin Schwartz's collections of scary stories, the tales collected here will provide a deliciously tingly next step...All are engagingly unsettling in some way, with a select few crossing over into genuine nightmare territory." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books»

A collection of thirty-six forty eerie, mysterious, intriguing, and very short stories by the acclaimed authors Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire LeGrand, and Emma Trevayne. The Cabinet of Curiosities is perfect for fans of Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and anyone who relishes a good creepy tale. Les mer

101,-
Paperback
Usikker levering*
*Vi bestiller varen fra forlag i utlandet. Dersom varen finnes, sender vi den så snart vi får den til lager

Logg inn for å se din bonus

A collection of thirty-six forty eerie, mysterious, intriguing, and very short stories by the acclaimed authors Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire LeGrand, and Emma Trevayne. The Cabinet of Curiosities is perfect for fans of Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and anyone who relishes a good creepy tale. Great for reading alone or reading aloud at camp or school! The book features an introduction and commentary by the authors and black-and-white illustrations throughout.

Detaljer

Forlag
Greenwillow Books
Innbinding
Paperback
Språk
Engelsk
Sider
496
ISBN
9780062313140
Utgivelsesår
2014
Format
21 x 14 cm

Om forfatteren

Stefan Bachmann is the author of the internationally bestselling novel The Peculiar and its acclaimed sequel, The Whatnot. He was born in Colorado, spent most of his childhood in Switzerland, and is now studying modern music at the Zurich University of the Arts. When he's not writing, he can be found traveling to someplace chilly, or holed up beneath his college in the dimly lit labyrinth of practice rooms, which may have inspired the subterranean scenes in A Drop of Night. That ... and the Paris catacombs, a weird dream about a golden corridor, and a general interest in history. Katherine Catmull Cataloger and Philosopher of Scientific Marvels with a particular focus on Jars of Moonlight, Frozen Flowers, Broken Fish Fins, Shiny Things Found on Pavements, and Bringing Cookies to Meetings. Claire Legrand's first novel was The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, a New York Public Library Best Book for Children in 2012. She is also the author of The Year of Shadows and Winterspell, a young adult retelling of The Nutcracker. She is one of the four authors behind The Cabinet of Curiosities anthology, a Junior Library Guild selection and a NYPL Best Book for Children in 2014. Emma Trevayne Collector of Auditory Oddities, Whimsical Words, and Cryptic Cyphers. Pays special attention to petrichor, things that glimmer, and mechanical body parts.

Anmeldelser

«A hefty sheaf of chillers-all short enough to share aloud and expertly cast to entice unwary middle graders a step or two into the shadows." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "This collection of 36 short dark fantasies ... aspires to sit on the same shelf as Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and succeeds admirably... Readers who enjoy their Halloween chills all year round will find this anthology a delight." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) "With school dismissed, it's time for pure pleasure reading... The Cabinet of Curiosities ... lets readers dip in and out of 36 spine-tingling tales." -- Shelf Awareness for Readers "The stories are remarkable both for their uniformly high quality and for their distinctness from one another; the abundant atmospherics, including occasional stark black-and-white illustrations, provide a unifying sense of dread." -- The Horn Book "For readers who have gloried in and graduated from Alvin Schwartz's collections of scary stories, the tales collected here will provide a deliciously tingly next step...All are engagingly unsettling in some way, with a select few crossing over into genuine nightmare territory." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books»

Medlemmers vurdering

Oppdag mer

Bøker som ligner på Cabinet of Curiosities:

Se flere

Logg inn

Ikke medlem ennå? Registrer deg her

Glemt medlemsnummer/passord?

Handlekurv