Min side Kundeservice Bli medlem

La Guitarrista

«Told with unitalicized Spanish and English intertwined, the rhymes are appropriately melodic, and the art is vibrant, full of warm tones and round-faced characters full of expression. It’s a combination that works: a heartfelt story of a neighborhood coming together to help a little girl’s dream come true and engaging illustrations that deliver. An inspiring story of perseverance.  — Kirkus Reviews The rhyming of this story only enhances the rhythm of the guitar readers might imagine playing in the background as they read. The illustrations are vibrant and add to the feel of the story, showcasing diverse characters and the energy of the Los Angeles neighborhood where it is set. With English and Spanish text, this book could be used to foster social and emotional learning, as well as highlighting diversity. VERDICT A recommended purchase that will be fun to share as a read-aloud and inspire readers to follow the song in their hearts. — School Library Journal This upbeat story carries positive messages about believing in yourself, persevering when others doubt you, and achieving your dream through hard work. A fun read-aloud pick for a bilingual (or any!) storytime. — Booklist A vibrant rhyming celebration of an L.A. neighborhood community and one Latinx-cued child’s determination to find “the song in my heart.” Diaz’s text flows smoothly between English and Spanish as a refrain of “Strum! Strum! Strum!” propels Canta’s journey from observer to performer. Emotions leap from Player’s warm-palette digital illustrations, which utilize emanata and deep perspective to create a sense of movement and passionate energy around Canta’s larger-than-life dreams. — Publishers Weekly»

From the creators of Paletero Man—Latin Grammy–winning musician Lucky Diaz and celebrated artist Micah Player—comes a story about a tenacious girl who achieves her wildest dreams with a little help from her community and a broken guitar. 

Les mer

189,-
Innbundet
Sendes innen 7 virkedager

Logg inn for å se din bonus

From the creators of Paletero Man—Latin Grammy–winning musician Lucky Diaz and celebrated artist Micah Player—comes a story about a tenacious girl who achieves her wildest dreams with a little help from her community and a broken guitar. 

Strum! Strum! Strum! Get ready to rock with la guitarrista!

When Canta finds a guitar in the trash, she is one step closer to becoming a rock star. Even though the guitar is broken and she doesn’t know how to play, nothing can stop Canta from going after her dreams!

Perfect for fans of Because and We Will Rock Our Classmates, readers will rock out to this empowering tale of resilience, community, the power of music—and never giving up on your dreams.

The book includes Spanish words and phrases throughout, an author’s note from Lucky Diaz, and a link to the song inspired by the book.

Detaljer

Forlag
HarperCollins
Innbinding
Innbundet
Språk
Engelsk
ISBN
9780063254152
Utgivelsesår
2023
Format
25 x 25 cm

Om forfatteren

Lucky Diaz is a bilingual, songwriting, taco-eating, multi–Latin Grammy Award–winning, GRAMMY nominated and six-time Emmy–nominated musician, children’s television personality and author. His work has been praised by NPR, Billboard magazine, People magazine and the New York Times. He is a Parent’s Choice Gold Award and NAPPA Award winner. In 2020, his album Buenos Diaz was named an official selection of notable works for children by the American Library Association. Lucky’s debut picture book, Paletero Man, has been celebrated with a Kirkus Star, SLJ Star, Publisher’s Weekly Star and Book List Star. He currently lives in a house on a hill in Los Angeles with his wife Alisha, daughter Indiana, and their dog Django. luckydiazmusic.comwww.luckydiazmusic.com

Micah Player began his career designing and illustrating for Paul Frank Industries in Southern California. He is the author of Chloe, Instead and the illustrator of several books and games for children, including Vote for Our Future! and Friday Night Wrestlefest. He lives in a little house beneath a giant tree in the Utah mountains, with a lovely schoolteacher named Stephanie. They are the parents of two rad kids, one Yorkshire terrier, and several Casio keyboards. His favorite paleta is fresas con crema. www.micahplayer.com

Anmeldelser

«Told with unitalicized Spanish and English intertwined, the rhymes are appropriately melodic, and the art is vibrant, full of warm tones and round-faced characters full of expression. It’s a combination that works: a heartfelt story of a neighborhood coming together to help a little girl’s dream come true and engaging illustrations that deliver. An inspiring story of perseverance.  — Kirkus Reviews The rhyming of this story only enhances the rhythm of the guitar readers might imagine playing in the background as they read. The illustrations are vibrant and add to the feel of the story, showcasing diverse characters and the energy of the Los Angeles neighborhood where it is set. With English and Spanish text, this book could be used to foster social and emotional learning, as well as highlighting diversity. VERDICT A recommended purchase that will be fun to share as a read-aloud and inspire readers to follow the song in their hearts. — School Library Journal This upbeat story carries positive messages about believing in yourself, persevering when others doubt you, and achieving your dream through hard work. A fun read-aloud pick for a bilingual (or any!) storytime. — Booklist A vibrant rhyming celebration of an L.A. neighborhood community and one Latinx-cued child’s determination to find “the song in my heart.” Diaz’s text flows smoothly between English and Spanish as a refrain of “Strum! Strum! Strum!” propels Canta’s journey from observer to performer. Emotions leap from Player’s warm-palette digital illustrations, which utilize emanata and deep perspective to create a sense of movement and passionate energy around Canta’s larger-than-life dreams. — Publishers Weekly»

Medlemmers vurdering

Oppdag mer

Bøker som ligner på La Guitarrista:

Se flere

Logg inn

Ikke medlem ennå? Registrer deg her

Glemt medlemsnummer/passord?

Handlekurv