Min side Kundeservice Bli medlem

Shadow of What Was Lost

Book One of the Licanius Trilogy

«Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire»

GUARDIAN

'A storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' Guardian

AS DESTINY CALLS, A JOURNEY BEGINS

It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them - the Gifted - are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their own powers.

As a young Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden powers of the Augurs, he sets in motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian's wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is . . .

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated, begins to stir.

The Licanius trilogy:
The Shadow of What Was Lost
An Echo of Things to Come
The Light of All That Falls


'Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters' Boingboing.net

'Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding' Fantasy Faction

'Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series' Barnes & Noble SF and Fantasy Blog

Les mer

145,-
Paperback
Sendes innen 7 virkedager

Logg inn for å se din bonus

'A storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' Guardian

AS DESTINY CALLS, A JOURNEY BEGINS


It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them - the Gifted - are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their own powers.

As a young Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden powers of the Augurs, he sets in motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian's wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is . . .

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated, begins to stir.

The Licanius trilogy:
The Shadow of What Was Lost
An Echo of Things to Come
The Light of All That Falls


'Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters' Boingboing.net

'Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding' Fantasy Faction

'Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series' Barnes & Noble SF and Fantasy Blog

Detaljer

Forlag
Orbit
Innbinding
Paperback
Språk
Engelsk
Sider
736
ISBN
9780356507774
Utgivelsesår
2017
Format
13 x 20 cm

Om forfatteren

James Islington was born and raised in southern Victoria, Australia. An avid fantasy reader for many years, it was only when he read Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn series that he was finally inspired to write something of his own. He now lives with his wife and daughter on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria.

Anmeldelser

«Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire»

GUARDIAN

«So exciting . . . Will appeal not only to The Wheel of Time readers, but to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding»

FANTASY FACTION

«A traditional coming-of-age, saving-the-world epic fantasy in the vein of Tad Williams, Raymond E. Feist (and yes, Robert Jordan). But it also has the flavour of something new . . . You'll be left wanting more»

SFX

«

Action aplenty and an ample spattering of violence . . . This is a whole new world with a fresh fantasy streak

»

SCIFINOW

«A relentless juggernaut of a book . . . Astoundingly intricate worldbuilding»

DAILY MAIL

«Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters »

BOINGBOING

«Incessant plot twists and a relentless pace»

KIRKUS

«Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series»

BARNES & NOBLE SF BLOG

«Complex magic, terrifying threats out of legend, political intrigue, and a large cast of characters . . . Fans of doorstop epic fantasy will not be disappointed»

PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

«Magic, monsters, prophecies, betrayals and revenge . . . The first novel by James Islington has it all»

THE ELOQUENT PAGE

«Definitely a series to watch out for. It has everything you wish in Epic fantasy and a lot more»

THE BOOK PLANK

«An action-packed nailbiter»

BOOKBAG

«Relentless pace and exciting plot . . . absorbing and impressive»

CULTUREFLY

Medlemmers vurdering

Oppdag mer

Bøker som ligner på Shadow of What Was Lost:

Se flere

De som kjøpte denne kjøpte også:

Logg inn

Ikke medlem ennå? Registrer deg her

Glemt medlemsnummer/passord?

Handlekurv