Meny
 

Postmistress of Paris

A Novel

The New York Times bestselling author of The Last Train to London revisits the dark early days of the German occupation in France in this haunting novel-a love story and a tale of high-stakes danger and incomparable courage-about a young American heiress who helps artists hunted by the Nazis escape from war-torn Europe. Les mer
Vår pris
311,-

(Innbundet) Fri frakt!
Leveringstid: Sendes innen 7 virkedager

Innbundet
Legg i
Innbundet
Legg i
Vår pris: 311,-

(Innbundet) Fri frakt!
Leveringstid: Sendes innen 7 virkedager

The New York Times bestselling author of The Last Train to London revisits the dark early days of the German occupation in France in this haunting novel-a love story and a tale of high-stakes danger and incomparable courage-about a young American heiress who helps artists hunted by the Nazis escape from war-torn Europe.

Wealthy, beautiful Nanee was born with a spirit of adventure that transcends her Midwestern roots. For her, learning to fly is freedom. When German tanks roll across the border and into Paris, this woman with an adorable dog and a generous heart joins the resistance. Known as the Postmistress because she delivers information to those in hiding, Nanee uses her charms and skill to house the hunted and deliver them to safety.

Inspired by the real life Chicago heiress Mary Jayne Gold, who worked with American journalist Varian Fry to smuggle artists and intellectuals out of France, Meg Waite Clayton has fashioned a sweeping tale of romance and danger, set in a world aflame with personal and political passion. The Postmistress of Paris is the haunting story of an indomitable woman whose strength, bravery, and love is a beacon of hope in a time of terror.
FAKTA
Utgitt:
Forlag: Harper
Innbinding: Innbundet
Språk: Engelsk
ISBN: 9780062946980
Format: 23 x 15 cm
KATEGORIER:

Bla i alle kategorier

VURDERING
Gi vurdering
Les vurderinger

«Widely esteemed for her previous World War II novels, Meg Waite Clayton triumphantly returns with The Postmistress of Paris, a story of one woman’s heroic quest to help the forgotten in Occupied France. Clayton’s immaculately researched and beautifully written tale of passage and courage and heart is her best work yet.»

«An evocative love story layered with heroism and intrigue — the film ‘Casablanca’ if Rick had an artsy bent … powerful.” »

«A sweeping tale of perseverance and courage set against the backdrop of Nazi-era Europe, The Postmistress of Paris is the very best kind of historical fiction: a complex and intriguing story that both highlights a little-known moment in the past and resonates powerfully in the present, reminding us that bigotry can only be vanquished when people are willing to take a stand.”»

«I loved The Postmistress of Paris, a novel of so many layers - a suspense story, a love story, and a story about the purpose of art. Meg Waite Clayton is a brilliant and deft writer, and I rooted for her strong, witty and brave heroine on her pulse-pounding mission to save Jewish painters, intellectuals, and a motherless child from Vichy France.»

«“The work of an unsung heroine rises from the pages of The Postmistress of Paris. Meg Waite Clayton draws a vivid contrast between the beauty of art and the brutality of war, the power of humanity and the human cost of cruelty, greed, and prejudice. With a heart-stopping flight across war-torn Europe, this is a story readers of historical fiction and strong female characters will devour.”»

«“Clayton expertly renders the story of a courageous American woman’s role in the French Resistance during WWII. . . . Clayton’s lyrical, thought-provoking prose breathes life into her characters. This sterling portrait of a complex woman stands head and shoulders above most contemporary WWII fiction.”»

«“This gripping historical love story from Clayton brings readers into the courageous lives of those struggling just to stay alive and those risking everything to help.” »

«Fans of Kate Quinn and Kristin Hannah will want to dive right into The Postmistress of Paris." »

«“A true gem . . . and a testament to the power of good.” »

Meg Waite Clayton is the New York Times bestselling author of eight novels, including The Postmistress of Paris (a Publisher’s Weekly notable book; HarperCollins, Nov. 30, 2021), the National Jewish Book Award finalist and international bestseller The Last Train to London, the Langum Award honoree The Race for Paris, the Bellwether Prize finalist The Language of Light, and The Wednesday Sisters, an Entertainment Weekly 25 Essential Best Friend Novels of all time. Her novels have been published in 23 languages. She has also written more than 100 essays, opinions, and reviews for major newspapers, magazines, and public radio. She mentors in the OpEd Project, and is a member of the National Book Critics Circle and the California bar. megwaiteclayton.com