Gigantsalget er utvidet: inntil -70% på varer!
Min side Kundeservice Bli medlem

Mohinder's War

«I really enjoyed Mohinder's War [...] there's plenty of drama and action and it makes for an exciting and tense read.»

getkidsintobooks.com

A thrilling World War II adventure set in occupied France, featuring an Indian RAF pilot. Great for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne, and those who want diverse historical fiction.

Thirteen-year-old Joelle Breton stumbles across Indian-born RAF pilot Mohinder Singh when his plane crashes in occupied France and it's up to her and her parents to hide him from the Nazis. Les mer

92,-
Tilgjengelig umiddelbart etter kjøp

Logg inn for å se din bonus

A thrilling World War II adventure set in occupied France, featuring an Indian RAF pilot. Great for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne, and those who want diverse historical fiction.

Thirteen-year-old Joelle Breton stumbles across Indian-born RAF pilot Mohinder Singh when his plane crashes in occupied France and it's up to her and her parents to hide him from the Nazis. After all, her parents are brave members of the French Resistance and will do everything they can to help get Mohinder back to Britain. But when they are betrayed and tragedy strikes, Joelle and Mohinder will have to act fast if they are ever to evade the enemy.

Flashbacks offer dramatic stories set in key moments of history, perfect for introducing children to historical topics.

Book Band: Dark Red
Ideal for ages 10+

Detaljer

Forlag
Bloomsbury Education
Språk
Engelsk
Sider
176
ISBN
9781472958396
Utgivelsesår
2020

Anmeldelser

«I really enjoyed Mohinder's War [...] there's plenty of drama and action and it makes for an exciting and tense read.»

getkidsintobooks.com

«Fans of stories based during World War II such as Friend or Foe will love this gem. [...] It is pretty much perfect for a class read.»

thegreatbritishbookworm.wordpress.com

«A fantastic insight into life under German occupation which shines an important light on the role of Indian soldiers fighting for the British.»

chrikarublog.wordpress.com

«Mohinder's War gives an understanding of the harshness of war [...] There are moment of great sadness as well as great joy. Joelle and Mohinder defy all odds to try to get to safety in Britain - such an exciting near ending! This is a quick read which will not only appeal to those 9+ year-olds who are interested in WWII history, but also Michael Morpurgo fans.»

«This is what's important. You learn, if you didn't already know, that Indians fought for Britain in the war, flying from England. [...] I could do with more stories like this one.»

Bookwitch.wordpress.com

«A WWII story told from a different perspective; a tale of bravery and perseverance, of sacrifice and humanity, of honesty and faith. [...] A gem of a book that needs to be read!»

annasadventuresinbookland.blogspot.com

«A thrilling World War II adventure set in occupied France, featuring an Indian RAF pilot. Great for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne, and those who want diverse historical fiction.»

donnasbookblog.wordpress.com

«I found Mohinder's War to be a really powerful and brilliant book and it does a wonderful job of demonstrating just who was fighting under the British flag and what that meant.»

www.letthembesmall.com

«Bloomsbury Education's Flashbacks series promises strong characters and thrilling plots that bring the past alive. Confident readers in UKS2 – perhaps those who have already devoured Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne – will be gripped by Mohinder's War.»

Teach Primary

«Bali Rai's writing is a perfect balance between simplicity and truth for children to grasp the realities of these events during WWII.»

www.scarlettreadsbooks.com

«Short, and driven by compelling characters, engaging dialogue and an onward-marching pace, this is perfect for reluctant readers who may struggle to keep focus. It's also excellent for prompting discussions around WWII and broader ethical issues.»

Book of the month

«Rai's style is spare and immediate, immersing the child reader instantly in the peril and the grief of a wartime struggle for survival with enemies on every side, and the charismatic Mo is an enormously warm and personable hero.»

TLS

Medlemmers vurdering

Oppdag mer

Bøker som ligner på Mohinder's War:

War

John Wood
Paperback 
145,-
 

Se flere

Logg inn

Ikke medlem ennå? Registrer deg her

Glemt medlemsnummer/passord?

Handlekurv