Rules of Civility

The stunning debut by the million-copy bestselling author of A Gentleman in Moscow

«Even the most jaded New Yorker can see the beauty in Amor Towles' Rules of Civility, the antiqued portrait of an unlikely jet set making the most of Manhattan»

San Francisco Chronicle

For fans of Fitzgerald and Capote, a witty, elegant fairytale of New York, set in 1938. Les mer

145,-
Paperback
Sendes innen 7 virkedager

Logg inn for å se din bonus

For fans of Fitzgerald and Capote, a witty, elegant fairytale of New York, set in 1938.

Detaljer

Forlag
Sceptre
Innbinding
Paperback
Språk
Engelsk
Sider
368
ISBN
9781444708875
Utgivelsesår
2012
Format
20 x 13 cm

Om forfatteren

Amor Towles has written fiction which has appeared in The Paris Review. He lives in New York.

www.amortowles.com
www.facebook.com/AmorTowles

Anmeldelser

«Even the most jaded New Yorker can see the beauty in Amor Towles' Rules of Civility, the antiqued portrait of an unlikely jet set making the most of Manhattan»

San Francisco Chronicle

«Smashing . . . remarkable for its strong narrative, original characters, and a voice influenced by Fitzgerald and Capote, but clearly true to itself»

Publishers Weekly

«The best novels are the ones that completely transport you to another time and place. This beautifully written debut does just that. With wit, wisdom, and rich language, Towles introduces a cast of unforgettable 1938 New Yorkers, who change the book's heroine in surprising and absorbing ways»

J. Courtney Sullivan, author of FRIENDS AND STRANGERS

«Impressive . . . the great strength of Rules of Civility is in the sharp, sure-handed evocation of Manhattan in the late '30s»

Wall Street Journal

«Put on some Billie Holiday, pour a dry martini and immerse yourself in the eventful life of Katey Kontent»

People

«Rattles along at the pace of a riotous night out in the book's vividly evoked Manhattan. It is atmospheric, satisfying Great Gatsby-lite complete with fish-out-of-water first-person narration, country house parties and a fabulously wealthy male protagonist who is not all that he seems»

The Times

«Elegance and hardship drip off the page»

Daily Mail

«This book feels special . . . Towles was born to write»

Sun Herald

«Set against a soundtrack of clinking glasses and saxophones, the book is a love letter to the city and the era, so confidently written it instantly plunges you into Thirties New York. Towles creates a narrative that sparkles with sentences so beautiful you'll stop and re-read them. A delicious and memorable novel that will leave you wistful - and desperate for a martini»

Stylist

«Amor Towles' stylish, elegant and deliberately anachronistic debut novel transports readers back to Manhattan in 1938 . . . Filled with snappy dialogue, sharp observations and an array of terrifically drawn characters . . . Glittering»

NPR

«A fizzy, finely observed tale . . . It's also a loving evocation of the chance social alchemy of Village jazz joints, Wall Street coffee shops, Midtown Champagne palaces, and Lower East Side former speakeasies»

New York Times Book Review

«It's the Depression, and a gal Friday with a mouth like Dorothy Parker's is dallying with the smart set . . . turns out she's not the only climber. A joyride through the ups and downs of 1930s high society»

Good Housekeeping

«If the unthinkable happened and I could never read another new work of fiction . . . I'd simply re-read this sparkling, stylish book, with yet another round of martinis as dry as the author's wit»

Herald

«Who doesn't want to be transported to Thirties Manhattan?»

Lucy Mangan, author of ARE WE HAVING FUN YET?

«This is a flesh-and-blood tale you believe in, with fabulous period detail. It's all too rare to find a fun, glamorous, semi-literary tale to get lost in . . . While you're lost in the whirl of silk stockings, fur and hip flasks, all you care about is what Katey Kontent does next»

Viv Groskop, Observer

«Irresistible . . . A cross between Dorothy Parker and Holly Golightly, Katey Kontent is a priceless narrator in her own right - the brains of a bluestocking with the legs of a flapper and the mores of Carrie Bradshaw»

Daily Telegraph

«Jazz-age New York is the setting for martinis and girls on the make in Rules of Civility by Amor Towles. As glamorous as it is gut-wrenching, this is [a] must-read»

ELLE

«Achingly stylish . . . [a] witty, slick production, replete with dark intrigue, period details, and a suitably Katharine Hepburn-like heroine»

Guardian

«Terrific. A smart, witty, charming dry martini of a novel»

David Nicholls, author of ONE DAY

«Gripping and beautiful»

Sunday Times

Medlemmers vurdering

Oppdag mer

Bøker som ligner på Rules of Civility:

Se flere

De som kjøpte denne kjøpte også:

London

Nazneen Khan-Østrem
Innbundet 
390,- 429,-
 

Årene

Annie Ernaux
Paperback 
160,- 229,-

Svik

Trude Teige
Paperback 
160,- 229,-
 

Volga

Geir Pollen
Innbundet 
409,- 449,-
 

Logg inn

Ikke medlem ennå? Registrer deg her

Glemt medlemsnummer/passord?

Handlekurv