BESTSELGERSALG – bøker fra 79,-
Min side Kundeservice Bli medlem

Study for Obedience

Shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2023

«One of my favourite living writers... hypnotic... a complex and compelling book»

GQ

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2023
WINNER OF THE SCOTIABANK GILLER PRIZE 2023
LONGLISTED FOR THE HIGHLAND BOOK PRIZE 2023
NAMED AS ONE OF GRANTA MAGAZINE'S BEST OF YOUNG BRITISH NOVELISTS 2023

A powerful, compressed masterwork for fans of Shirley Jackson and Claire-Louise Bennett

A woman moves from the place of her birth to a remote northern country to be housekeeper to her brother, whose wife has just left him. Les mer

189,-
Sendes innen 7 virkedager

Logg inn for å se din bonus

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2023
WINNER OF THE SCOTIABANK GILLER PRIZE 2023
LONGLISTED FOR THE HIGHLAND BOOK PRIZE 2023
NAMED AS ONE OF GRANTA MAGAZINE'S BEST OF YOUNG BRITISH NOVELISTS 2023

A powerful, compressed masterwork for fans of Shirley Jackson and Claire-Louise Bennett

A woman moves from the place of her birth to a remote northern country to be housekeeper to her brother, whose wife has just left him. The youngest child of many siblings - more than she cares to remember - from earliest childhood she has attended to their every desire, smoothed away the slightest discomfort with perfect obedience, with the highest degree of devotion. The country, it transpires, is the country of their family's ancestors, an obscure though reviled people.

Soon after she arrives, a series of unfortunate events occurs - collective bovine hysteria; the demise of a ewe and her nearly-born lamb; a local dog's phantom pregnancy; the containment of domestic fowl; a potato blight. She notices that the local suspicion about incomers in general seems to be directed particularly in her case. What is clear is that she is being accused of wrongdoing, but in a language she cannot understand and so cannot address. And however diligently and silently she toils in service of the community, still she feels their hostility growing, pressing at the edges of her brother's property...

Detaljer

Forlag
Granta Books
Innbinding
Innbundet
Språk
Engelsk
Sider
208
ISBN
9781783789931
Utgivelsesår
2023
Format
20 x 13 cm

Om forfatteren

Sarah Bernstein is from Montreal, Quebec and lives in the Northwest Highlands. Her fiction, poetry and essays have appeared in places like tender, Contemporary Women's Writing, MAP, Granta and Room Magazine. She teaches modern and contemporary literature. Her first novel The Coming Bad Days was published in 2021.

Anmeldelser

«One of my favourite living writers... hypnotic... a complex and compelling book»

GQ

«Study for Obedience is a fully absorbing, beautiful and sinister portrait of becoming and unbelonging, of violence held in time and place, that enriches the reader's habitation of the world's intelligibility and its darkness»

David Hayden

«A weird outsider, a religious town - and one of the year's best novels... Beguiling and smart... Bernstein's prose has a studied coolness, all concision and steady flow. Yet it develops a queasiness of tone as the narrator's dealings with the townsfolk become a painful comedy... Haunting...»

Daily Telegraph

«Sarah Bernstein manages to combine cool, perfectly weighted prose with an extraordinary emotional sensibility»

Fiona Mozley

«Study for Obedience [...] spins a carefully woven web of culpability and criminality... Bernstein paints from a palette of dread... This masterly follow-up to her debut acts as a meditation on survival, the dangers of absorbing the narratives of the powerful, and a warning that the self-blame of the oppressed often comes back to bite»

Observer

«A story of abjection... This compelling book serves as a powerful castigation of those who would draw the lines of society and communal identity so as to narrow diversity and to punish those who dare to be different»

Irish Times

«[A] short, potent outing... a deliberately enigmatic, sporadically deadpan offering with a fair whiff of Samuel Beckett. But it's at its most compelling as the folk horror evolves, seemingly, into opaque revenge drama»

Daily Mail

«Remarkable... A beautiful, riddling tale, it's like nothing else you'll read this summer»

Telegraph

«Sarah Bernstein's Study for Obedience is at once a languid and sometimes harrowing journey into the truth of human animals living in a small community and the need for a woman to give voice to the strange and beautiful cruelties of life. This is a unique novel that is primal and eerie, where language creates silence and vivid images reflect a kind of earthiness where our most intimate selves live. The wide praise for Bernstein's remarkable writing is well earned.»

Asale Angel-Ajani, author of A Country You Can Leave

Medlemmers vurdering

Oppdag mer

Bøker som ligner på Study for Obedience:

Se flere

De som kjøpte denne kjøpte også:

Sjøfarar

Sophia de Mello Breyner Andresen
Paperback 
272,- 299,-
 

Logg inn

Ikke medlem ennå? Registrer deg her

Glemt medlemsnummer/passord?

Handlekurv