Vision of the World - John Cheever

Vision of the World

Selected Short Stories

; Julian Barnes (Introduksjon)

The first authorised selected collection of the twentieth-century's most important and influential short story writer Les mer
Vår pris

Leveringstid: Sendes innen 7 virkedager

Legg i
Legg i
Vår pris: 218,-

Leveringstid: Sendes innen 7 virkedager

The first authorised selected collection of the twentieth-century's most important and influential short story writer
Forlag: Vintage Classics
Innbinding: Innbundet
Språk: Engelsk
Sider: 304
ISBN: 9781784875824
Format: 22 x 14 cm

Bla i alle kategorier

Gi vurdering
Les vurderinger

«There was a time in my life when I thought I would have to find a support group for people who loved Cheever as much as I do… I would write out his sentences by hand at times to see what does that feel like, to be able to have that felicity of language»

«As stories go, as compellingly readable narratives of a certain sort of people in a certain time and place — our time and place—John Cheever's stories are, simply, the best»

Washington Post

«John Cheever is an enchanted realist, and his voice, in his luminous short stories…is as rich and distinctive as any of the leading voices of postwar American literature»

«Cheever shows a sublime psychological understanding of all that goes unsaid – whatever’s not mentioned between couples is fully present and felt»

«Ultimately, it is the stories which make the case for Cheever as a great American writer, one who continues to deserve our attention and admiration»

John Cheever was born in Quincy, Massachusetts, in 1912, and he went to school at Thayer Academy in South Braintree. He is the author of seven collections of stories and five novels. His first novel, The Wapshot Chronicle, won the 1958 National Book Award. In 1965 he received the Howells Medal for Fiction from the National Academy of Arts and Letters and in 1978 he won the National Book Critics Circle Award and the Pulitzer prize. Shortly before his death in 1982 he was awarded the National Medal for Literature. Julian Barnes is the author of thirteen novels, including The Sense of an Ending, which won the 2011 Man Booker Prize for Fiction, and Sunday Times bestsellers The Noise of Time and The Only Story. He has also written three books of short stories, four collections of essays and three books of non-fiction, including the Sunday Times number one bestseller Levels of Life and Nothing To Be Frightened Of, which won the 2021 Yasnaya Polyana Prize in Russia. In 2017 he was awarded the Légion d'honneur.