Min side Kundeservice Bli medlem

Starling House

A Sunday Times bestseller and the perfect dark Gothic fairytale

«This book has everything you could possibly want this fall . . . a cursed town, a haunted house, a vivid and eerie setting—plus, characters willing to risk everything»

Reese Witherspoon, Reese’s Book Club October 2023 Pick

A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick

‘Alix E. Harrow is an exceptional, undeniable talent’ - Olivie Blake, author of The Atlas Six

Step into Starling House – if you dare. Alix E. Harrow reimagines Beauty and the Beast in this gorgeously modern Gothic fantasy, perfect for fans of V. E. Schwab and Naomi Novik.

No one in Eden remembers when Starling House was built. But everyone agrees that it’s best to let the house – and its last, lonely heir – go to rot.

Starling House is uncanny and ugly and fully of secrets, just like its heir. Opal knows better than to mess with haunted houses or brooding men, but it might be a chance to get her brother out of Eden. It feels dangerously like something she’s never had: a home.

But Opal isn’t the only one interested in the house, or the horrors and wonders that lie beneath it. If Opal wants a home, she’ll have to fight for it. She’ll have to dig up her family’s ugly history and let herself dream of a better future. She’ll have to go down, down into Underland, and claw her way back to the light . . .

This is a romantic and spellbinding Gothic fairytale from Hugo, Nebula and Locus Award-shortlisted Alix E. Harrow.

'Starling House is Alix E. Harrow’s greatest work yet' - Ava Reid, author of A Study in Drowning

‘Gorgeous, poignant, and honest – an unforgettable read’ - Andrea Stewart, author of The Bone Shard Daughter

Readers love Starling House:

'This book is literally EVERYTHING TO ME'
'This was the perfect mix of fantasy and horror'
'I will never not be swooning over this book!'
'10/10, no notes, will absolutely read again when I'm prepared to cry'

Les mer

290,-
Innbundet
Sendes innen 7 virkedager

Logg inn for å se din bonus

A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick

‘Alix E. Harrow is an exceptional, undeniable talent’ -
Olivie Blake, author of The Atlas Six

Step into Starling House if you dare. Alix E. Harrow reimagines Beauty and the Beast in this gorgeously modern Gothic fantasy, perfect for fans of V. E. Schwab and Naomi Novik.

No one in Eden remembers when Starling House was built. But everyone agrees that it’s best to let the house – and its last, lonely heir – go to rot.

Starling House is uncanny and ugly and fully of secrets, just like its heir. Opal knows better than to mess with haunted houses or brooding men, but it might be a chance to get her brother out of Eden. It feels dangerously like something she’s never had: a home.

But Opal isn’t the only one interested in the house, or the horrors and wonders that lie beneath it. If Opal wants a home, she’ll have to fight for it. She’ll have to dig up her family’s ugly history and let herself dream of a better future. She’ll have to go down, down into Underland, and claw her way back to the light . . .

This is a romantic and spellbinding Gothic fairytale from Hugo, Nebula and Locus Award-shortlisted Alix E. Harrow.

'Starling House is Alix E. Harrow’s greatest work yet' -
Ava Reid, author of A Study in Drowning

‘Gorgeous, poignant, and honest – an unforgettable read’ - Andrea Stewart, author of The Bone Shard Daughter

Readers love Starling House:

'This book is literally EVERYTHING TO ME'
'This was the perfect mix of fantasy and horror'
'I will never not be swooning over this book!'
'10/10, no notes, will absolutely read again when I'm prepared to cry'

Detaljer

Forlag
Tor
Innbinding
Innbundet
Språk
Engelsk
Sider
320
ISBN
9781529061123
Utgivelsesår
2023
Format
24 x 16 cm

Om forfatteren

Alix E. Harrow is an ex-historian with lots of opinions and excessive library fines, currently living in Kentucky with her husband and their semi-feral children. Her short fiction has been nominated for the Hugo, Nebula and Locus awards. Her full-length novels include The Ten Thousand Doors of January, The Once and Future Witches and Starling House.

Anmeldelser

«This book has everything you could possibly want this fall . . . a cursed town, a haunted house, a vivid and eerie setting—plus, characters willing to risk everything»

Reese Witherspoon, Reese’s Book Club October 2023 Pick

«Alix E. Harrow is an exceptional, undeniable talent, and Starling House, with its gentle reassurances of the homes we make and the love we deserve, is more than satisfying. It’s pure loveliness in book form»

Olivie Blake, author of <i>The Atlas Six</i>

«Gorgeous, poignant, and honest—an unforgettable read»

Andrea Stewart, author of <i>The Bone Shard Daughter</i>

«The gaudy, dark seam between horror and romance. Starling House is Alix E. Harrow’s greatest work yet – if you can survive its slow belly-crawl into hell»

Ava Reid, author of <i>Juniper and Thorn</i>

«This book is as knife-edged and sharp as its protagonist, a rich and strange exploration of home and need and want . . . A smart, spectacular contemporary Gothic»

Kat Howard, author of <i>An Unkindness of Magicians</i>

«This is one you’re going to love»

<i>Glamour Magazine</i>

«Tender and triumphant . . . Starling House will no doubt take its place alongside fiction’s most memorable haunted houses»

<i>Publishers Weekly</i>, Starred Review

«Harrow’s mash-up of twisted fairy tales and Southern gothic fiction is a haunting story of longing, lies, and generational curses»

<i>Library Journal</i>, Starred Review

«Alix E. Harrow is a fantasy author who just does not miss. This magical, heartfelt haunted house tale is no different»

<i>Paste Magazine</i>

«This is gothic fairy tale at its best and truest: dark and romantic, angry and hopeful . . . I loved it»

H.G. Parry, author of <i>The Magician's Daughter</i>

«Devastating, eerie and upbeat»

<i>SFX</i>

«A spooky story about how hidden truths always come back to haunt you»

 <i>Kirkus</i>, Starred Review

Medlemmers vurdering

Oppdag mer

Bøker som ligner på Starling House:

Se flere

De som kjøpte denne kjøpte også:

Hag

Daisy Johnson
Innbundet 
247,-
 

Logg inn

Ikke medlem ennå? Registrer deg her

Glemt medlemsnummer/passord?

Handlekurv