Min side Kundeservice Bli medlem

Storey Street novel: Demolition Dad

«This book was so fun my parents got angry I wasn't coming to eat lunch!»

Cara, The Guardian

First in a brand-new middle-grade series from Carnegie longlisted author Phil Earle, illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie, DEMOLITION DAD is a hilarious, warm story about family, friends and wrestling - perfect for fans of David Walliams. Les mer

134,-
Paperback
Usikker levering*
*Vi bestiller varen fra forlag i utlandet. Dersom varen finnes, sender vi den så snart vi får den til lager

Logg inn for å se din bonus

First in a brand-new middle-grade series from Carnegie longlisted author Phil Earle, illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie, DEMOLITION DAD is a hilarious, warm story about family, friends and wrestling - perfect for fans of David Walliams.

Detaljer

Forlag
Orion Children's Books
Innbinding
Paperback
Språk
Engelsk
Sider
192
ISBN
9781444013863
Utgivelsesår
2015
Format
20 x 15 cm
Priser
Worcestershire Awesome Book Award 2016

Om forfatteren

Phil Earle (Author)
Phil Earle was born in the great city of Hull in 1974, and spent the next eighteen years playing a lot of sport, messing around in plays and trying to sing in bands. He has had jobs as a care worker in a residential kids' home and a bookseller, and now works as sales and marketing director for David Fickling books. In 2016, Phil was appointed as Reading charity BookTrust's new writer-in-residence. He lives on a hill in Yorkshire with his wife and three children and his favourite place to write is on the bus. Visit Phil's website, www.philearle.com, or follow him on twitter @philearle.

Anmeldelser

«This book was so fun my parents got angry I wasn't coming to eat lunch!»

Cara, The Guardian

«A warm, funny and genuinely touching story of family relationships, in a lycra wrapping»

Andrea Reece, Love Reading 4 Kids

«The author creates a chatty relationship with the reader, with nifty asides and jokey puns as he weaves a quirky and frankly ridiculous story ... a very funny book for 8-10 year olds, who, I'm sure, will love it»

School Librarian

«Phil "BOOKCRUSHER" Earle has written one funny, fabulous, pile driving BLAST of a book. (Read it in Lycra for full wrestling experience.)»

LIZ PICHON, author of TOM GATES

«Sara Ogilvie's beautifully drawn illustrations add real life and humour»

DAVID TAZZYMAN, illustrator of MR GUM

«The funniest book I've read this year. It's a wonderful mix of heart, wit and wrestling Lycra»

KATHERINE RUNDELL, author of ROOFTOPPERS

«The humour is woven through a story which is full of well formed characters and, as well as the slapstick, the book also deals with realistically portrayed emotions and relationships, dreams, harsh realities, media manipulation, families and friendship ... It's definitely one children will want to return to»

CENTRE FOR LITERACY IN PRIMARY EDUCATION

«A light-hearted, funny story with a nail-biting conclusion ... The story whizzes along, while Sarah Ogilvie's humorous line drawings are a perfect complement to the text. The first of a promised series, Demolition Dad will be enjoyed by even the most reluctant of readers»

The School Librarian

«The writing is laugh-aloud funny, as are the antics ... this book has jokes that will appeal to adults and kids alike»

Kieran Fanning

«A heart-warming story with a very happy ending. The multiple award-winning Sara Ogilvie and her scratchy comic drawings make a perfect foil for this lively and affectionate story.»

Books for Keeps

«Underneath the high-octane humour and silliness, Earle weaves in powerful themes of father/son relationships, bullying, depression, self-esteem, failure and even frustrated career women. But mostly of love. This is a gloriously life-affirming novel: funny, sensitive, intelligent and with a heart as big as George's waistline.»

Daily Mail

«Masses of humour, heart, some cracking jokes and moments of real poignancy»

The Bookseller

«Contemporary stories involving long-term loving relations between father and son other than Roald Dahl's Danny the Champion of the World are not always easy to find, and Phil Earle plugs this gap to the full.»

BOOKS FOR KEEPS

«Sweet story of friendship with highly emotive illustrations which will resonate with those with younger siblings. A warm sharing read, well worth having.»

PETERS BOOKSELLERS

«Phil Earle's fictional father comes about as close to Danny the Champion's Dad as I can find. However, as with much children's fiction I've been reading recently, this is a depiction of a modern Dad who fits right into our current world... If you buy your Dad just one book this Father's Day - make it this one (then keep it for yourself).»

MINERVA READS

«A wrestling story with heart. Funny and very, very readable!»

THE BOOKBAG

«A brilliant story about family and caring... Phil Earle has a turn of phrase that is second to none. The illustrations by the talented Sarah Ogilvie bring the story to life ... a brilliant combination of illustration and text»

CAROUSEL

«Warm, funny and heartfelt ... A phenomenal book»

ROBIN STEVENS, author of MURDER MOST UNLADYLIKE

Medlemmers vurdering

Oppdag mer

Bøker som ligner på Storey Street novel: Demolition Dad:

Se flere

De som kjøpte denne kjøpte også:

Stauder

Tommy Tønsberg
Innbundet 
345,- 379,-
 

Lou!

Julien Neel
Innbundet 
134,-
 

Asleep

Banana Yoshimoto
Paperback 
145,-
 

Logg inn

Ikke medlem ennå? Registrer deg her

Glemt medlemsnummer/passord?

Handlekurv